Gifford Pinchot National Forest
  • Home
  • Downloads
  • Return to Portal
  • About Gifford Pinchot National Forest

    The Gifford Pinchot National Forest is one of the oldest National Forests in the United States. Included as part of the Mount Rainier Forest Reserve in 1897, this area was set aside as the Columbia National Forest in 1908. It was renamed the Gifford Pinchot National Forest in 1949. Located in southwest Washington State, the Gifford Pinchot National Forest encompasses 1,312,000 acres and includes the 110,000-acre Mount St. Helens National Volcanic Monument, established by Congress in 1982. 

    Whether you seek solitude, social activity, creative inspiration, wildlife, forest products or scenic beauty, you can find it in the Gifford Pinchot National Forest. We invite you to enjoy the many different aspects of your National Forest.

    The U.S. Forest Service administers national forest lands for outdoor recreation, timber, watersheds, range, fish and wildlife. While Douglas-fir is prevalent and has provided timber for decades, other common trees include Western hemlock, Port Orford and Western red cedars, as well as ponderosa and lodgepole pines. 

    People have been using the forest for thousands of years. Some of these locations of past human activity or occupation are still identifiable today. Forest archeology crews document our cultural heritage resources through field surveys, historical documentation, or oral tradition. The forest heritage program protects heritage resources as well as shares the values of these resources with the American people. To date, 1,596 heritage resource sites have been documented on the Gifford Pinchot National Forest